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HomeReady Mortgage Guide

HomeReady Mortgage Guide

    • Important HomeReady Mortgage Program Considerations
    • Pros Cons
      • Ability to purchase a home with low down payment and no borrower contribution
      • Ability to include income from non-occupant borrowers (parents), non-borrower household members (relatives) and boarders improves ability to qualify for a mortgage
      • No up-front or ongoing FHA mortgage insurance premium and lower private mortgage insurance (PMI) costs as compared to standard programs
      • More flexible mortgage qualification requirements especially as it relates to a borrower’s credit profile
      • Typically higher interest rate than other low / no down payment mortgage programs
      • The borrower may be subject to maximum income limits depending on where the property is located
      • Requires borrower to pay ongoing Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) on monthly basis
      • Limits on mortgage amount
    • How HomeReady Mortgage Program Works
    • Fannie Mae offers the HomeReady Mortgage Program to help home buyers with limited resources and alternate sources of income afford mortgages. In short, Fannie Mae is a government-sponsored enterprise that develops mortgage programs and provides capital to lenders. Fannie Mae's mortgage programs are offered through approved lenders. The HomeReady Program replaced Fannie Mae’s MyCommunityMortgage Program and is designed to address the growth in the number of households with “extended-family” living arrangements such as cases where parents live with an adult child who wants to buy a home.

      The HomeReady program enables home buyers to buy a home with a down payment as low as 3.0% of the property purchase price and no minimum borrower contribution. The program is similar to Fannie Mae's 97% LTV Mortgage Program but allows a borrower to include non-traditional sources of income which improves the borrower’s ability to qualify for the mortgage or enables the borrower to qualify for a higher mortgage amount.  Typically when you apply for a mortgage only the borrower’s income is considered to determine your ability to qualify for a mortgage but with the HomeReady Mortgage Program three additional sources of income are factored into the qualification assessment:

      • Income from non-occupant borrower. This is income from a parent or relative who is a borrower on the mortgage but does reside in the property. For example, a mother’s income could help a daughter qualify for a mortgage to buy a property that only the daughter will own and live in. Both the mother’s and daughter’s income are included in determining the borrower’s ability to qualify for the mortgage and both are listed as borrowers on the mortgage. Income from a non-occupant borrower is considered qualifying income and is subject to income limits outlined below.  Please note that if you use income from a non-occupant borrower to qualify for a HomeReady mortgage you are required to make a down payment of at least 5%, which means your maximum loan-to-value (LTV) ratio is 95%.
      • Income from boarders. Up to 30% of the income used to determine a borrower’s ability to qualify for the mortgage can come from boarders. For example, if you rent out your basement or a spare room, this rental income can be added to the borrower’s income to determine what size mortgage the borrower qualifies for
      • Income from non-borrower household member. This is income from a relative who resides in the property but who is not listed on the mortgage. In this case, the income is used to support the borrower's application.  For example, if a father lives with his son, the father’s income may be considered by the lender and used to solidify the son's loan application. Please note that income from a non-borrower household member is not added to the applicant's income to determine the applicant's ability to qualify for the mortgage and only the applicant is listed as the borrower on the mortgage. Additionally,  the non-borrower household income is not counted against the income limits outlined below.

      The HomeReady program also has more flexible borrower qualification requirements especially as it relates to a borrower's credit profile. For example, a borrower with a credit score as low as 620 or with no or limited traditional credit history may be eligible for the program. We discuss qualification guidelines including credit profile guidelines in detail below.

    • How to Apply for the HomeReady Program
    • Although Fannie Mae develops and sponsors the HomeReady Program, borrowers do not interact with Fannie Mae when they apply for a HomeReady mortgage.  Instead, borrowers apply for the HomeReady Program through approved lenders such as banks, mortgage banks, mortgage brokers and credit unions.  These approved lenders make sure that applicants meet the HomeReady Program eligibility guidelines and qualify for the mortgage according to Fannie Mae's borrower qualification requirements.  Not all lenders offer HomeReady mortgages but many do.  Click on a lender in the table below or MORTGAGE RATES to contact lenders about the HomeReady Program.

    • Rate Details*
      Loan Program:  
      Monthly Payment:  
      APR:  
      Rate:  
      Points  More Info:
      Points: Fees you are willing to pay in order to get a lower interest rate. The number of points refers to the percentage of the loan amount that you would pay. For example, "2 points" means a charge of 2% of the loan amount.
       
      Total Lender Fees:  
      Loan type:  
      Property Value:  
      Loan to Value:  
      Credit Rating:  
      Date Submitted:  
      Monthly Housing Payments
      P & I More Info
      Principal & Interest: A periodic payment, usually paid monthly, that includes the interest charges for the period plus an amount applied to the reduction of the principal balance.
      Mortgage Insurance More Info
      Mortgage Insurance: The monthly cost for a policy that protects the lender in case you’re unable to repay the full amount of the loan. It is typically required for loans that have a loan-to-value ratio between 80% to 100%.
      (Estimated)
      Property Tax More Info
      Property Tax: (Also called "Real Estate Tax.") Property taxes are government assessments on real estate property. With mortgage financing, the local, county or state tax assessment on real estate property is considered part of the monthly housing obligation and typically collected and set aside by the lender ...
      (Estimated)
      Homeowner Insurance More Info
      Homeowner Insurance: or also commonly called hazard insurance, is the type of property insurance that covers private homes. It is an insurance policy that combines various personal insurance protections, which can include losses occurring to one’s home, its contents, loss of its use, or loss of other personal possessions of the homeowner, as well as liability insurance for accidents that may happen at the home or at the hands of the homeowner within the policy territory.lender ...
      (Estimated)
      Homeowner Association Fee More Info
      Homeowner Association fee: (HOA) fees are funds that are collected from homeowners in a condominium complex to obtain the income needed to pay (typically) for master insurance, exterior and interior (as appropriate) maintenance, landscaping, water, sewer, and garbage costs.
      (If Any)
      Total Monthly Housing Payments
      Lender Fees
      Points More Info
      Points Fees you are willing to pay in order to get a lower interest rate. The number of points refers to the percentage of the loan amount that you would pay. For example, "2 points" means a charge of 2% of the loan amount.
      Origination Fee More Info
      Origination Charge: A loan origination charge is a fee charged by the lender for evaluating, processing, and closing the loan.
      Credit Report Fee More Info
      Credit Report Fee: Fee charged to obtain an applicant’s credit history prepared by one or all of the three major credit bureaus. Used by lender to determine the borrower’s creditworthiness.
      Tax Service Fee More Info
      Tax Service Fee: A fee charged by the lender to cover the cost of retaining a tax service agency. These agencies monitor the property tax payments on the property and report the results to the lender.
      Processing Fee More Info
      Processing Fee: A processing fee is a charge by the lender for clerical items associated with the loan. Examples of processing include loan set up, organization of loan conditions for underwriting, and preparing required disclosures for the borrower.
      Underwriting Fee More Info
      Underwriting Fee: A fee charged by the lender to verify information on the loan application, authenticate the property’s value, and perform a risk analysis on the overall loan package.
      Wire Transfer Fee More Info
      Wire Transfer Fee: In most cases lenders wire funds to escrow companies to fund a loan. Commercial banks that perform this function will charge the lender so the fee is generally passed on to the borrower.
      (If Any)
      FHA Upfront Premium More Info
      FHA Upfront Premium: A fee paid in cash at the close of escrow or more commonly it is financed into the loan. These premiums are pooled together by the FHA and are used to insure the risk of borrower default on FHA loans. FHA upfront premiums are prorated over a five year period, meaning should the homeowner refinance or sell during the first five years of the loan, they are entitled to a partial refund of the FHA upfront premium paid at loan inception.
      (If any)
      VA funding Fee (If any)
      Flood Fee
      Other Fees More Info

      Other fees could be either additional Administrative Fees that a lender charges or it could be a Flat Fee to cover all lender charges such as: (Origination Fees, Points, Underwriting and Processing Fees, Credit Reports and Tax Service Fees)

      The flat fee does not include prepaid items and third party costs such as appraisal fees, recording fees, prepaid interest, property & transfer taxes, homeowners insurance, borrower’s attorney’s fees, private mortgage insurance premiums (if applicable), survey costs, title insurance and related services.

      Total Lender Fees
      *Actual rates and other information may vary. Sponsored results shown only include participating lenders. The information you enter on this page will only be shared with lenders you choose to contact, either by calling the phone number or requesting a quote.
      Current Mortgage Rates as of October 19, 2018
      • Lender
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      Data provided by Informa Research Services. Payments do not include amounts for taxes and insurance premiums. The actual payment obligation will be greater if taxes and insurance are included. Click here for more information on rates and product details.
    • Borrowers can also combine a HomeReady mortgage with a personal gift, employer program, down payment grant, closing cost assistance program or qualified subordinated second mortgage to pay for a down payment, closing costs or property renovations, allowing the borrower to purchase a one unit property with no personal financial contribution. Down payment and closing cost assistance grants as well as qualified subordinated second mortgages, also referred to as Community Seconds loans, are provided through state or local housing agencies or commissions.

      • Review information on Community Seconds and other mortgage assistance programs by clicking STATE PROGRAMS
    • HomeReady Qualification Requirements
    • To qualify for the Fannie Mae HomeReady Mortgage Program borrowers must meet certain eligibility requirements.  We review the key borrower qualification requirements below.

      Borrower Personal Financial Contribution

      For single unit properties such as a home or condominium, the borrower is not required to contribute any personal funds toward the property purchase to qualify for the HomeReady Program.  In this case, instead of using their own funds, the borrower can use a down payment grant, community seconds loan, closing cost assistance program or a gift to pay for the required 3% down payment and closing costs.  This enables the borrower to buy the property with no out of pocket costs.  For two-to-four unit properties, the borrower is required to contribute at least 3% of the property purchase from their own funds if the loan-to-value (LTV) ratio is greater than 80%.  If the LTV ratio is less than or equal to 80%, the borrower is not required to make a personal financial contribution toward the purchase price.

      Credit Score

      For borrowers with traditional credit profiles, the HomeReady program typically requires a minimum credit score of 620 although lower scores may be permitted if borrowers experienced an extenuating circumstance such as a job loss or illness that adversely impacted their income for an extended period of time. We recommend that you review your credit report and score six months to a year before you start the mortgage process to avoid negative surprises and address potential issues you identify with your credit profile.

      For borrowers with limited or no credit history, a lender may submit a non-traditional credit profile on behalf of the borrower.  Instead of, or in addition to, using a traditional credit report and score, the lender establishes a nontraditional credit profile using the borrower's payment history for housing (rent payments), utilities and other credit sources.  Borrowers that use a nontraditional credit profile to apply for the HomeReady program must have no housing / rental payment delinquencies within the past two years, no outstanding judgments and limited monthly debt among other requirements.

      It is important to highlight that in order to qualify for the 3% down payment program option, borrowers typically are required to have a minimum credit score of 680 - 700, depending on their debt-to-income ratio. Borrowers with credit scores from 620 - 680 can qualify for the HomeReady program but are required to make higher down payments.

      Borrower Debt-to-Income Ratio

      According to HomeReady program guidelines lenders typically apply a debt-to-income ratio of 43% - 45% to determine what size mortgage a borrower can afford, although a ratio of up to 50% may be permitted in certain circumstance. In short, a debt-to-income ratio represents the ratio of how much you spend on monthly debt payments such as your mortgage and credit card bills to your monthly gross income. The debt-to-income ratio used by the HomeReady Mortgage Program is consistent with the debt-to-income ratio for standard mortgage programs although the FHA Mortgage Program permits a debt-to-income ratio higher than 50% under certain circumstances.

      Circumstances under which lenders may apply a higher deb-to-income ratio for HomeReady applicant include if you use income from a non-borrower member, such as a relative, to help qualify for the program or if you have additional sources of income that are not reflected in your application. Using a higher debt-to-income ratio increases what size mortgage you qualify for using the program.

      HomeReady Borrower Income Limits

      Depending on where the property is located, borrowers may be subject to income limits as outlined in the table below.  You can review HomeReady income limits on income eligibility maps available on Fannie Mae’s website or you can use Fannie Mae's address look-up tool to determine the area median income (AMI) and applicable income limit for any property.

    • Properties in Designated Low-Income Census Tracts
      • No income limit
      Properties Located in All Other Census Tracts
      • Income limit of 100% of area median income (AMI) or less
    • Home Buyer Counseling Class

      At least one of the borrowers must complete Framework, an online home buyer education class approved by Fannie Mae, or attend an in-person class offered by a HUD-approved counseling agency.  Borrowers also have access to post-purchase counseling and support for the life of their mortgage through Framework’s advisor service.

      First-Time and Repeat Home Buyers

      The HomeReady Mortgage program is available to both first-time home buyers and borrowers who have previously purchased a home but the borrower that owns and occupies the property cannot own any other residential properties.

      Borrower Financial Reserves

      Depending on your credit score, LTV, mortgage program, the number of units in the property and other factors the HomeReady Program may require that borrowers keep a certain level of savings in reserve at the time the mortgage closes.  For example, a borrower with a fixed rate mortgage, 680 credit score and an LTV greater than 75% who is buying a single-unit residence is required to hold two months of mortgage payments as savings in reserve at mortgage closing. So if your monthly mortgage payment is $2,000, you would be required to keep at least $4,000 in reserve at the time the mortgage closes.  A borrower with a fixed rate mortgage, 700 credit score and an LTV greater than 75% who is buying a single-unit residence is required to hold no savings in reserve (although FREEandCLEAR recommends that you keep enough savings in reserve to cover three-to-six months of total monthly housing expense).  Be sure to check with your lender to understand how the HomeReady borrower reserve requirements apply to you as you may need additional funds to qualify for your mortgage. 

    • Program Costs and Fees
    • Mortgage Rate

      The interest rate you pay on a HomeReady mortgage depends on several factors including your credit score and loan-to-value (LTV) ratio.  Borrowers with a credit score of 680 and above receive the program’s best interest rate while borrowers with lower credit scores and higher LTV ratios pay higher interest rates, which is a drawback to the HomeReady program.  For borrowers with good credit scores, the interest rate for a HomeReady mortgage is similar to other conventional no and low down payment programs but higher than the interest rate for government-backed programs such as the FHA, VA and USDA mortgage programs.  Borrowers should shop multiple lenders to find the HomeReady mortgage with the lowest rate and fees.

      Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI)

      The HomeReady Mortgage Program requires that borrowers purchase private mortgage insurance (PMI), which is an ongoing monthly cost in addition to your monthly mortgage payment. In short, PMI protects the lender in the event that the borrower defaults on the mortgage. The amount of PMI the borrower is required to pay depends on the borrower’s credit score and the size of the down payment the borrower makes, with the larger the down payment, the lower the required PMI. The borrower may be able to include the PMI in the mortgage amount as long as the combined loan-to-value (CLTV) ratio does not exceed 97% for a fixed rate mortgage or 90% for an adjustable rate mortgage (ARM).

      Most conventional low down payment programs require borrowers to pay PMI while the FHA and USDA Mortgage programs require the borrower to pay both an up-front and ongoing mortgage insurance premium (MIP). The HomeReady Mortgage Program does not require borrowers to pay an up-front PMI fee and the monthly PMI fee is removed when your LTV ratio falls below 78%.  Additionally, for mortgages with a loan-to-value (LTV) ratio between 90.01% and 97.00%, the cost for PMI required by the HomeReady program is usually less than for standard mortgage programs or the FHA mortgage program.

      Extra Fees

      Borrowers are required to pay standard lender fees and closing costs with the HomeReady Mortgage Program. Aside from a small fee to pay for the home buyer education class, borrowers are not required to pay additional fees to apply for the program. Borrowers using a down payment or closing cost assistance program may be required to pay a separate fee to the housing agency or commission to apply for that program.

      Impound Account

      Along with their mortgage payment, the program requires borrowers to pay property tax, homeowners insurance and private mortgage insurance (PMI) into an impound account on a monthly basis.  An impound account is a trust account controlled by the lender from which expenses such as taxes and insurance are paid when due. The impound account does not affect the amount of fees the borrower is required to pay for the mortgage.

    • Mortgage Type and Loan Amount
    • Mortgage Program

      Only selected mortgage programs are eligible for the HomeReady program. 10, 15, 20 and 30 year fixed rate mortgages plus 5/1, 7/1 and 10/1 adjustable rate mortgages (ARMs) are eligible for the program while interest only mortgages are not eligible.

      Maximum Loan-to-Value (LTV) Ratio

      HomeReady program loan-to-value (LTV) ratio limits vary depending on the number of units in the property as well as the mortgage program. LTV ratio is the ratio of the mortgage amount to the value of the property. For example if the mortgage amount is $97,000 and the property value is $100,000 then the LTV ratio is 97% ($97,000 / $1000,000 = 97%). The table below outlines the LTV limits for the HomeReady program based on the number of units in the property and mortgage type.

    • One Unit
      • Fixed Rate Mortgage (97% LTV) / Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM) (90% LTV)
      Two Units
      • Fixed Rate Mortgage (85% LTV) / Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM) (75% LTV)
      Three-to-four units
      • Fixed Rate Mortgage (75% LTV) / Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM) not eligible
    • For borrowers combining a HomeReady loan with a Community Seconds loan, the combined loan-to-value (CLTV) ratio of the first mortgage plus the second mortgage can be up to 105%. CLTV equals the sum of the amounts of all the mortgages on a property divided by the fair market value of the property.   For example, if the property purchase price is $100,000 a qualified borrower can obtain a HomeReady mortgage plus a Community Seconds mortgage for a total loan amount of $105,000. The borrower can use $100,000 from the two mortgages to purchase the property and $5,000 to pay for closing costs or renovations.

      Loan Limit

      The HomeReady program only applies to conforming loan amounts ($453,100 or below for a single unit property in most counties) which limits the size of mortgage you can obtain.

      Mortgage Type

      The HomeReady Mortgage Program applies to both home purchase mortgages as well as refinancings. The program helps borrowers who have limited equity in their property refinance their loan into a new, potentially more affordable mortgage.  Fannie Mae also offers the HARP 2.0 Program for borrowers who are underwater on their mortgage.

    • HomeReady Property Eligibility
    • The HomeReady Mortgage Program only applies to owner occupied properties. You can use the HomeReady program to purchase properties with up to four units (for example, an apartment building with four units), but at least one of the units needs to be owner occupied, or lived in by the individual(s) who obtained the mortgage to purchase the property.  Investment properties as well as second and vacation homes are not eligible for the program.

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